Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit

Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit

What's a Hill Topper? It's an electric assist motor inside your front bike wheel. It's quick and easy to install. We offer 8, 10, 20 and 40 mile Lithium battery options. Pick the battery that best suits your needs.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(324 Ratings, 50 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Very pleased
John Pearson (Colorado Springs, Colorado) 3/22/2014 9:19 AM
Its not an electric bike, its an almost perfect supplement to manual power when you want to go where its not always the most kind. It increases your range and enjoyment. The product is well make and honest. I would offer a small piece of advice. There are few front forks made of steel and they are not designed to accept the level of initial torque that can be applied at a standing start. Start from manually peddling to reduce the load. I broke one fork before calculating the load. Enjoy and benefit from a quality product that increases riding pleasure.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Kit
Kevin Hendrix (Oxford, MS) 2/17/2014 12:35 PM
Very nice complete kit for people who don't want to spec and build it on their own. Took about half an hour to route the wiring to safe places on the bicycle during the installation.
ratingratingratingratingrating
biking made easy
john fairs (victoria b.c.) 2/16/2014 3:51 PM
thanks clean republic got the kit a couple of weeks ago, unfortunately my forks didn't accept the wheel hub so I had to go to my local bike shop where they had a second hand set that would, the kit went on as simple as your video said. I'm 57 years young and bike to work. going to work is level ground or up hill (3 miles)coming home is an easy ride. I work as a chef so I'm on my feet all day, I found my legs were tiring by the end of the day. I used the hill topper for my trip to work when needed at the hills. I find my legs do not get tired at work any more. I have an old Norco screamer full suspension mountain bike which I'll send pics of. had to go to Manitou shocks which still needed a bit of grinding to fit right. love the product, will be a fan forever
ratingratingratingratingrating
Faster than a speeding bullet ...
Bob Sigsbee (Aubrey, TX) 12/2/2013 9:39 PM
… well, almost. Very fast, anyway. What a joy it is now for my wife to ride up the hills and inclines near our house. We both are amazed at the acceleration of the Hill Topper, and the smile on my wife's face says it all (you can't see her smile, but trust me, she is very, very happy). Thank you Clean Republic, for building a great product at a competitive price. By the way, Beau has been great to deal with -- please commend him for us. Kindest regards, The Sigsbees
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Buy
James Miller (Northern California) 11/12/2013 11:52 AM
I use the Hill Topper with the small lithium batter on remote dirt roads for accessing the back country. I usually have a small pack on the handle bars, a larger pack on the rear rack and another pack on my back. Probably about 100 lbs of gear plus my 225 weight. I usually go about 4 plus miles (round trip) in moderately hilly terrain on dirt roads or paths. I peddle on the way in (about 2 miles) then just let the motor do all the work on the way home, no peddling at all. This uses about 85% of the battery capacity. I just purchased a second one for my granddaughter.
ratingratingratingratingrating
The real hill topper
Juni (Costa Rica) 11/9/2013 6:17 PM
There are many hills&rainy days in San Jose, Costa Rica. I put the pro-pack with 10mile-lithium-batt on my Trek mountain bike. It's a real hill topper! It took 15 minutes without the kit on the uphill. Now, it takes only 8 minutes and I am not tired. Also, no problem in the heavy rain. Attach&detach of the batt on the bike is very easy for recharging. Parking the bike without the batt is good to prevent a stealing. I compared some e-bike kits and this kit is the best value for money in conclusion. Thank you.
ratingratingratingratingrating
LITHUIM SPRINTER 10 K HILL TOPPER
Eduardo Riebeling (Harlingen Texas) 8/15/2013 11:35 AM
UPDATE I WEIGHT 240# I BEEN USING THE BIKE FOR A WEEK TO GO WORK I COMMUTE 7 MILES EACH WAY (FLAT BUT WINDY), I ALWAYS PEDAL AND IS AMAZING, BUT,,, LAST 2 TIMES I DID NOT PEDAL TO CHECK SPEED AND HOW LONG IT WILL GO, BOTH TIMES I BARELY DO 5 MILES AND THE BATTERY IS DEATH (IT WAS FULLY CHARGED)THERE WAS SOME WIND AND I WEIGHT 240#, I WILL POST AGAIN TO REPORT TOTAL DISTANCE PEDALLING BUT SPEED AROUND 22 AND WITHOUT PEDALLING AROUND 17
ratingratingratingratingrating
Lithium 10 mile Hill Topper
Eduardo Riebeling (Harlingen Texas) 8/9/2013 9:57 AM
Amazing kit, commute of 7 miles no sweating and saving gas, install was easy but no 3 minutes more like half an hour, Thanks' Clean Republic
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great for the 5 Boro Bike Tour
Willy (NYC) 5/10/2013 9:17 AM
I used the sprinter pack on the 5 Boro Bike tour and it was wonderful. I was able to get up the really hard hills especially the one to get on the Queensboro bridge with no problems, I actually was surpassing the season riders around me. This thing is a wonder and am so glad someone came up with a simple and easy setup. Thanks guys!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
AMAZING !! AWESOME !!
John Clise (Port Townsend,WA.) 5/1/2013 11:19 AM
Yesterday I took my old clunker bike out for a ride with my new HillTopper with lithium - 10 mile battery attached. I took a 20 mile round-trip ride uphill and downhill (our town is hilly). This is much more than I have ridden in the past. The bike operated far beyond my highest expectations, and there was still some power left in my battery when I finished. I am obviously not a bike "techie" and don't fit a normal bike-riding profile. But with the HillTopper I plan to get a lot more biking in. Just for the record, I am 6'6" tall, 215 pounds and 81 years old.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love my hill topper bike kit. Could about 6 days to receive it through mail.
DM (Cordova, Tn) 11/30/2012 10:01 PM
Just received my hill topper bike kit. It was very easy to assemble and adjust the bike brake to accommodate the rim width. For all the ebikes and kits I saw, this kit was simple to install and affordable. I give it a 10 out of 10. I normally do not review products, but I am excited about this product. I have recently started biking with my 6 year old. I have a kids bike attachment that allows my son to trail behind and now pulling his weight, when he does not want to pedal, has made my biking experience more enjoy. Now my son can now relax when he does not want to pedal and I can use the hill topper to help me get up those hills. Thanks...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit
Harnek (Hemet,CA) 11/24/2012 5:23 PM
Excellent product and battery life is good and easy to set up. I recommend this product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Another 1100 Miles and My Wife Too.
Jeffrey Arnold (Zenda, WI) 9/14/2012 10:45 AM
I have put another 1100 miles on my Hilltopper equiped bike so far this year. When I say 1100 miles, that means that the Hilltopper is on the bike, but actual miles with the button pushed is certainly less than 10% of that. I can just go and not worry about hills and/or wind. My wife was not able to ride for two years because of severe back problems. She got a hilltopper this spring and has been able to put in several hundred miles of riding with me. She is in love with her Hilltopper and in love with biking again. We have gone on two biking vacations this year riding Rail Trails that she would have found impossible without her Hilltopper. We use the SLA batteries and find this to be an affordable option for our use. I really like the option of just putting the Hilltopper on another bike. With very excellent help of Clean Republic's customer service, I changed my Hilltopper from a 26" wheel to a 700c wheel this spring. I even laced on the new rim with their help. It worked out great. Two local bike shops refused to do the job, as they know nothing of electric rims! I think they are going to miss out on the next big thing in cycling. Electric bikes are starting bring many more people into cycling. We could be happier. If it matters, I am almost 65.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Front wheel motor best choice!
Bill D (Robbinsdale, Minnesota) 7/14/2012 1:55 PM
I am extremely happy with my Hill Topper bike kit with the 20+ mile range lithium battery. I purchased this system because I work 6-8 hour shifts at a Trader Joe's specialty foods market and by the time I'm ready to pedal my 9 miles home I'm bushed! Having electric assist means I can avoid overstressing myself during my commute. I'm also a very strong cyclist and part time bike shop employee who enjoys fast road bike riding and touring in my spare time, but need to have enough energy after work for mowing a nearly 2 acre lawn and enjoying my family. The system was easily installed in my Breezer Uptown with 7spd internal gears, a great durable bike perfect for bike commuting. I chose to purchase from Clean Republic because I wanted to insure great customer support and it turned out I did need some. Clean Republic had to replace my initial lithium battery because their supplier at the time sent them a bad lot of batteries. They now have a new supplier and the replacement battery is better made and is gives me a range of over 22 miles. I also lopped off the original "momentary" switch with one I liked better from Radio Shack. That cost me less than $4 at Radio Shack. You will need to soder on the new swich. My 9 mile (each way) commute time, including many stop signs and traffic lights, has gone from 70 minutes down to 40 minutes. I've also read that the average electrc bike gets the equivalent of over 1700 miles per gallon and my car is staying parked all the time now. I've used studded bicycle tires over 7 years to travel to/from work during Minnesota winters and already know the Hill Topper system with "front wheel drive" should be awesome. Realize that the system is essentially "all wheel drive" when I add my own power to the pedals! Anthony at CR is to be commended for his excellent customer service. If someone asks me, "Isn't bicycling with a motor cheating?" I respond, "Driving a 4000 pound car to haul my 170lbs 9 miles at even 40 mpg is cheating and wasteful.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good investment
Grant Haller (Boise, ID) 6/26/2012 11:36 AM
I am 53, not in bad shape, but found I made excuses for not riding my bike to work. It is a 7 mile round trip with a 3/4 mile hill at the end of about 500 ft elevation gain. On 90+ degree days and after a 12 hr shift I found I just wanted to drive, not ride. I did a little calculating, and figured the Hill Topper, though expensive, may pay for itself in a few years. The batteries (20 mile lithium) were on back-order so it took about a month to arrive. Install was easy. I have an old Panasonic touring bike that has 27 inch wheels. I had to file the drop out slightly for the wheel to fit, but it was only a few strokes with a 12 inch mill-bastard file. I had to adjust the brakes for the wheel size difference also. I bought the quick release for the wheel witch I really like. I have used the bike for about a month now. I use it virtually the whole commute except the downhill. I am riding in my 2nd from highest gear on the flats and not pushing hard on the pedals. I climb the long hill in my 3rd from lowest gear. I figure I am going about twice as fast with about half the effort on the climb. I have not challenged the range yet, as I have only used it on my commute, and recharge it every night. I plan on trying not charging it for a while to check the range soon. Overall, I love it. My hand gets a little tired because you must hold the button for power constantly, so you can't move that hands position w/o the motor stopping. You also can't use that hand to switch gears. I take the motor off and lock it in my locker at work, which adds a bit of hassle, 'tho minor. I would definitely recommend the Hill Topper.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Performs as advertised
Marshal G (Bellingham, WA) 6/11/2012 6:52 PM
I recently installed the SLA Hilltopper kit on my Giant Roam2 bike and it pretty much does exactly what I expected. Installation is self explanatory, especially with the videos on the website. Performance wise I have no complaints. I can now ride comfortably up just about any hill in the area and only on the steepest hills do I even have to pedal hard, whereas previously I would have to get off and walk up. Of course everyone always wants more power and more speed but for a $400 kit that's this easy to install it's fine. Before the Hilltopper I could only get to some areas if I could put my bike up on the rack on a bus but now there's nowhere in the city I wouldn't ride. I already want to upgrade to the Lithium battery though, not so much for the extra range which is nice but the savings in weight.
ratingratingratingratingrating
rear disk brake
hamilton (MN) 6/3/2012 10:23 PM
i would like to know if you can use the disk brake on you bike for this?
ratingratingratingratingrating
Thanks for a great product!
Bob Campagna (Syracuse, NY) 5/30/2012 9:48 AM
I received my kit on Friday 4May and installed with no problems (had to buy 4 washers). Ease of install was a breeze, as advertised. I converted a very old Giant 10 speed mountain bike that I bought about 20 years ago. I spent the weekend putting the HT through it's paces on the hilly streets of my neighborhood, and the toughest part of my ride home from work. It handled all challenges with no problems. Going up big hills is now like riding on flat ground. I am a 53yr old guy, 200lbs., and have been shying away from my bike as the hills had become too much for me to take. Now, I'm back in the game thanks to HT. My first ride into and home from work yesterday was a joy, and now I look forward to riding home instead of dreading it! I also have more confidence coming out of intersections, where a boost of speed can definitely help when you're dealing with traffic. I also can now spend more time riding with the kids (14 & 12). They want a HT too, but I told them they can have one when they are my age! Update: 3 weeks into owning the HT, I am enjoying it more than ever. No problems or issues have been encountered. I much prefer riding my bike to driving in my car for most trips.
ratingratingratingratingrating
RF tech
Rocky Croskey (Amsterdam OH.) 5/27/2012 6:50 PM
This product is true as the sun for what it does and really works great. However for the money u will spend on it u could almost buy a nice used car. I just can't justify spending over $2000.00 for a front wheel and a battery it's just too much
ratingratingratingratingrating
I love this Hill Topper Electric bike kit
alexander pownall (st. francisville, LA) 5/16/2012 6:34 PM
I put this motor on an adult tricycle because I have weak gait muscles. It was very easy to set up; I just had to tweak my brakes a bit. I'm now able to get from my house to the local store which is about 1.1 miles away. With out this kit I could never be able to ride a bike more than a few feet. Thanks for a great invention. :)
ratingratingratingratingrating
Darn Hill Solution
John Holmgren (Mesa, AZ) 1/10/2012 2:21 PM
i have put over 700 miles on my bike with this wheel. Visiting here to see if I can drive some traffic this way via the 'Affiliate' program. I have a number of web sites that need some ads that WILL generate income for both of us. I feel great, after what my doctor(s) put me through,(I tell them, "I flunked my autopsy!") I am fit and able to ascend Mesa's Ellsworth hill (FISHING), Usury Mountain trails (EXERCISE) and Most of eastern Maricopa County on mountain bike. Since going 'electric', I've purchased a Bicycle hitch, (for our pickup). It has allowed us to take our bikes to western Colorado, Grand Mesa, 'Buffalo Bill Days' in Golden, Colorado, New Mexico and downtown Phoenix. I can park in places where I do not need 'parking meter change' anymore! Your products are simply; "A 'Life style' changer!"
ratingratingratingratingrating
Mr
Steve (London) 11/30/2011 3:40 AM
Review from mid 50s man overweight but playing social tennis who was finding excuses to use the car for shortish local trips rather than his bike I have had the Hill Topper for a year now it was very easy to install and is still working fine had to replace the SLA batteries after I dropped them on the concrete garage floor. As I live in the UK picked up some standard SLA batteries designed for a disability scooter from e bay cheaply which I wired in easily and are working fine. The charger stooped working after six months but that was replaced quickly and without quibble under the warranty. Have done over a thousand miles, all in short round trips under 10 miles but with a couple of biggish hills (over a 100 ft elevation). In short it has replaced my car for any local trip I can climb the local hills easily and on a calm sunny day that is all I use it for but on a windy day it is used all the time gives huge flexibility and makes me want to use the bike. I know I should not gloat but it is good to overtake younger fitter riders with clearly more expensive bikes on a hill with panniers clearly full of shopping. What is bizarre is the comments I get from people, I have been accused of being lazy and cheating etc. by people all of whom have bikes but use cars for shortish trips. Would thoroughly recommend.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love!
Jeff Arnold (Zenda, WI) 10/7/2011 5:03 PM
I've got over 650 miles on my Hilltopper now. Almost all of these miles would have been in my car without the Hilltopper. I can just go and not worry about the hills on my route or what the wind will be like when I come home. I have an 11 mile round trip every morning. Many days I don't use the Hilltopper more than a couple tenths of a mile. Other days with a stiff wind, I may have it on for a mile or two. Hasn't given me any trouble yet. Charges in less than two hours (SLA).
ratingratingratingratingrating
physically challenge biker
harry walters (muncie, indiana) 9/29/2011 6:42 AM
I purchased the hill topper kit in April. I am a post polio survivor with a weakened left leg. This product is amazing, It has made biking fun again. I no longer have to plan my route to avoid hills or wind. It is great for hills, and also really helps with keeping monentum as I ride, but still get the exercise I need. Great product Clean Rebublic.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Zach
Zach (Everett, WA) 9/25/2011 10:31 AM
I want to reach out to all the big guys thinking about getting the Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit. I weight in at 287 LB and the motor is powerful enough to pull me up all the hills on my commute. I used to have to get dropped off and picked up at the park and ride 5 days a week, but now I ride my bike saving gas and time and get all the exercise I need to lose the weight. I have been riding 3 weeks and lost 5 pounds and would never have done this with Clean Republic amazing Hill Topper Kit giving me the boost I needed.
page12