Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit

Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit

What's a Hill Topper? It's an electric assist motor inside your front bike wheel. It's quick and easy to install. We offer 8, 12, 20 and 40 mile Lithium battery options. Pick the battery that best suits your needs.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(528 Ratings, 83 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best invention ever!!
Karuna (Florida) 1/5/2016 1:14 PM
I just received my e-bike kit yesterday and my daughter installed it today in less than 10 minutes, watching the online video. So straightforward & simple to install! I bought LEED's e-bike kit a few months ago and finally took it to my local bike shop for help after trying for an hour or more to install it ourselves. None of us ever got the unit installed & working properly. It was cumbersome, difficult and LEED customer service was not helpful. I probably lost about $150 between the bike shop fees & the return postage (which LEED would not pay). The Hill Topper is amazing. I wish I'd gotten it years ago and I'm hoping I can spare others from the LEED experience I had. Everyone should have a Hill Topper! I'm retired, travel frequently in my RV and my bike is my only means of transportation once I reach my destination. I no longer have to worry about going too far and being unable to make it back home. So happy I can explore more now! If you've been thinking about an e-bike conversion kit, this is certainly the one I would recommend. Now I can keep up with my daughter & my grandson when we go riding!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great product, Great service
Dave C. (Cali.) 12/24/2015 12:27 PM
I went car-less about a year ago. My Hill-topper on an Electra Cruiser ( 3 speed) makes it easy and practical. My commute is 7 miles round trip and my town is about 10 miles across. Living in wine country, the traffic on weekends can be very heavy. I just cruse on by. Its great! What I like most about the kit is how basic it is. --- No on-board computers --- No electronic peddle assist --- No handle bar display Just a motor, a battery and a switch. Excellent! And the customer service is top notch. I had a custom harness made and through some miscommunication ( probably on my end) it was wrong. One e-mail, and I had a return shipping label and a new harness in about a week. Perfect! With the battery hidden in a pannier, and the wiring concealed under handle bar tape, I've had people follow me into parking lots to ask me " I saw you pass those guys on road bikes. What kind of bike is that?" Then it's a 10 minuet conversation about what a Clean Republic Hill Topper is, and where to get one. Last Word If you want to ride more, go father and have some fun, pull the trigger and get a Hill topper.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Turned my life around!
Barbara Banks (Atlanta GA) 12/4/2015 10:43 AM
This 55-year old grandma has loved biking since my youth but haven't done it since moving to hilly GA in the 1990s. Now, I'm older, fatter, arthritic. I'm currently working (as a nanny) only a mile from home, but I carry a HUGE bag of FUN for the kiddies every day, and couldn't manage with a backpack. I also knew that without knee replacement, I couldn't currently negotiate the steep hills of this city. I began researching tricycles, and spent about 6 months wavering between affordable pre-motorized bikes, from companies with BAD reputations, and cheapo trikes to which I could add a motor. I finally settled on a Schwinn Meridian and Electric-Bike-Kit. And I couldn't be happier. There are a lot of things I didn't consider about riding a trike on these narrow urban streets. The road crown really throws you off at first, and trying to stay to that invisible "bike lane", I nearly had to quit. Upright Trikes are LESS stable than bicycles, and taking a turn at speed, or bringing the vehicle up short in an emergency, takes a good deal of practice. I'm pleased to say I'm GETTING that practice. The kit was a breeze to assemble, and the power provided (12-mi lithium) is JUST ENOUGH to make me work pretty hard getting up the steepest hills, which is just what I wanted. (I do use an exercycle on days I can't get outside.) It's getting chilly in GA now, and commuter traffic is NOT kind to a waddling old gal on a trike. I've bought a neon vest and flashing front and rear lights. But with my trike I can cut through the park to get to work and home again, and when they finish the new grocery store a mile in the other direction, I might retire my car altogether! My enthusiasm inspired my sedentary husband was inspired to buy himself a "REAL" (21-sp) bike, and has been getting out almost every day, so you have reformed 2 couch potatoes into budding athletes, Clean Republic!
ratingratingratingratingrating
I've been using it on an adult tricycle for years
Gail (Napa, CA) 12/2/2015 7:17 AM
This is a wonderful set-up. I've been using it on my adult (HEAVY) three-wheel bike for about 5 years now. I still have the same wheel and battery and they're going strong. I typically ride 8-10 miles with a 20 pound dog in the basket at times and this kit really powers through. Can't say enough good things. I have two more bikes that I have put the kit on so friends can come along and have several more friends that have purchased kits. They all love their kits.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Reliable
Jeff Arnold (Zenda WI) 11/12/2015 8:07 AM
I just had to put my bike away for the winter. My commute starts at 6:30 am and it is now just too cold and dark at that time. I now have 5,217.67 miles on my first Hilltopper that I purchased in 2011. It has never given me one minute of trouble. I did upgrade to a 20 mile Li battery this year, but the original sla was still just fine. My wife is only able to ride at all because of her Hilltopper. She has to use assist most of the time. On one ride this summer she got 27 miles out of her battery! We have tried a couple ebikes, but the Hilltoppers do the job for a lot less money. Thank you for a great product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
First Ride Review (Salsa Fargo)
Keith Dury (Marion, Indnana) 11/5/2015 2:17 PM
Review after my first ride: I bought the 40 mi. lithium Hilltopper kit and installed it on a Salsa Fargo steel ‘Great Divide Route” bicycle with 2.1” off-road tires. I had to file the fork dropouts a tad for the wheel to fit, though that only took five minutes. I had fully charged both batteries the night before, so in 20 minutes the wheel was installed and ready to go. Weight of bike, all carriers, batteries and me totaled 225 pounds. I used the motor constantly but added my own pedaling in high gear—never sweating with light pedaling on Northern Indiana-level roads. Going out I averaged about 13mph into the 15-20mph quartering headwind. My first battery lasted 12 miles into the wind. Coming back, however, with a quartering tailwind I ran about 18-20 mph and the second battery lasted 18 miles for a total of 30 miles, which is about what I’d expect given the wind and weight. (I believe the 40 mile rating is based on a 170 pound person, level riding, and no wind. Of course I was not using the hilltopper as intended, and don’t plan to use it again this way (constant power). My wife and I plan to use them as a boost uphill and maybe sometimes to stretch the miles to get on a motel on 10 day trips of 300-500 miles. I am quite satisfied with the product and my testing came out about where I’d expect based on their tests. I am now figuring out how to add one to my wife’s Trek Superfly Gary Fisher 100AL (her fork has no dropouts). I am one satisfied customer and convinced that adding a hilltopper wheel to an existing bike is much better than buying a completely separate electric bike. –Keith Drury, Marion, Indiana November 5, 2015
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best Ever! LOVE it for the hilly Ozarks
cheryl (Arkansas) 11/2/2015 2:31 PM
Best thing ever! MY husband easily replaced the front wheel and connected the 'gadget'. I took it out for my first ride today and was amazed at how intuitive it is to use. Turn the 'on' switch before taking off and, thereafter, pedal with your legs and, at hills when you need assistance, push the little button on the right handlebar until you no longer need electric assist. This beats the 'you know what' out of many of the other electric wheels I've seen on the market where people complained about the difficulty of using or reaching the electric switch. And I LOVE that it is electric 'assist' rather than all electric so I still get exercise but don't have to go up our very hilly areas without help.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Solves the Parking Problem
Philip Smiley (Kirkland, WA) 10/12/2015 4:14 PM
This Hilltopper is eye watering. Finally an affordable electric bike. I have a 1971 Raleigh Record and had to have the forks filed to accept the Hilltopper Axle. The bike is amazing. you press the button and you just ride on flat surfaces without pedaling unless you want to speed then you pedal with the button held down. If you let go of the button it returns to a normal 10 speed. Be careful about pressing the button when you don't want the bike to go. It could leave without you and it can be confusing at first if you press it did not want to go fast. Makes Hills seem like level ground. I haven't had to walk it up a Hill since I put the Hilltopper on. Customer service of Clean Republic is great!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
convenience
mark jiles (Brooklyn ny) 7/18/2015 8:54 AM
So easy to apply.I love my Hilltopper ebike.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Quality Product responsive customer service
Patrick O'Day (Chicago) 7/12/2015 2:40 PM
I purchased the Hill Topper kit with the economy battery. The kit was delivered in under a week and was just as they claim, super easy to install. I put it on an old Giant Yukon mountain bike. If I had to give the motor a power rating I would say it's equal to about 1 man power. Not from a dead stop but in general. The motor without pedaling would get me going about as fast as I could pedal comfortably and I would estimate that I could accelerate about twice as fast as normal when I pedaled and used the motor for assistance. Pedaling while using the motor intermittently to accelerate and to stay at speed with headwinds and small inclines I got about 12-13 miles from the 8 mile economy battery. Due to personal factors I won't go into, I had to return the kit because I needed the money and they were awesome about it. I emailed them to ask what I needed to do and they said just ship it back and we will process it and issue a refund. Once they received it they processed the return within two days. So bottom line is great kit, great service, quick to response to emails and overall a pleasant interaction. I would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family. Patrick
ratingratingratingratingrating
works well, some surprises on fitting my bike
Carine Wood (Burlington, ON, Canada) 7/12/2015 12:01 PM
I had a Edwin Toba BionX e-bike that worked very well. Sophisticated electronics with different levels of assist, mini trip computer, totally silent etc. It was very heavy, no way I could use it without some assist. I sold it last year as I got fitter and needed space. This year my health is not so good so I looked at fitting an e-motor to my current road/hybrid bike. I chose hill topper because it fits on the front wheel, and I could exchange it back to my normal wheel fairly easily, or so I thought. My fork is wide enough (I measured it before ordering)but the HT middle axle was just too fat to fit the fork. No mention that this might be a problem on the website. My husband is an engineer, very "handy", and he grinded the fork just enough to fit the HT axle. So my bike works, and yes, it is very helpful to climb up my local hills on the Niagara escarpment. Also make sure that the motor cable is on the right side when the wheel is clipped on. I have not tried to revert the front wheel back yet, I hope the original wheel will be stable! The battery position is best behind the saddle in my opinion. Happy hill climbing...
ratingratingratingratingrating
12-mile-battery
Yuni (San Jose, Costa Rica) 7/3/2015 8:30 PM
I have ridden on a Trek mountain bike with Hill Topper kit for about two years. Recently, my old battery stopped working during an uphill. Then, I got a new 12-mile-battery for replacement. It's almost same size&weight. It works well! Also, thank you for 10% off coupon for a replacement battery.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Like a kid again!
Linda (Nashville) 7/2/2015 12:40 PM
Okay. My 65th birthday is coming up. I used to love to ride a bike, so I bought a Tricycle (Alemeda) from Walmart. The only problem was I couldn't get it up the hills anymore. The Hilltopper was the perfect solution. I don't have to use the motor much, but it makes the difference of turning my bike from an exercise chore to an exhilarating adventure. I live in a condominium complex and have a safe, but hilly path to ride one mile. It took me (with no help) about 10 minutes to install on my Trike. I couldn't have made a better choice for FUN!
ratingratingratingratingrating
exercise is fun again
Steve (Hillsboro NH) 5/16/2015 6:59 PM
Retired factory mechanic/outdoors-man 57th birthday gift; kit w/12 mile lithium for helping fun times on 10 y/o Mountain/street bike (Raleigh) crossover. Simple quick conversion done in time to apply charged battery. Peddling only on hills I got 8 miles climbing 800 ft on first run. 2nd day out realized I was having so much fun I ordered a 20 mile lith. At 6'2" 240 there is no noticed difference freewheeling, but all hills are easy (even grinding along in 1st gear on the steep stuff). I'm drooling over the roads and trails now available and fun with the power assist. I've tracked E-bikes evolving over 10 years and Hilltopper always looked like the best fit for a fun easy workout. This old guy is happy to play like a kid again!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love it!!!
Debbie (Ozone Park) 5/13/2015 7:13 AM
I wanted to get an electric bike for a while but my biggest concern was the weight of the bike and once the battery dies, pedaling will be hard. I came across this website and couldn't be happier :):):):( It's so easy to install and doesn't add a lot of weight to my bike and if the battery is on empty I don't have to worry about pedaling because it won't be difficult as opposed to an electric bike. I really love my bike now. It goes so fast!! Thank you!!!!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
I've waited a long time...
Steve (Hillsboro NH) 5/12/2015 8:38 PM
After several years researching & tracking electric bikes, I got a Hill Topper kit with a 12 mile battery. On the first day I brutalized it with a 6 mile hilly road climbing 600 feet, pedaling only the steep stuff before it quit. My mountain bike is now fun again at age 57. I'm ordering a 20 mile battery ASAP. "Too much effort to bother to ride" just turned into "Hey, this is fun exercise"! At 6'2" 250 pounds I am impressed with the capability of my new (exercise) toy. The technology has finally arrived at my level of expectation.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Exactly what we needed!
Robert K. (Springfield, Mo) 5/8/2015 5:48 AM
My wife and I are heading into retirement and wanted to stay active. We love biking and the landscape of where we live. The hilly terrain has always be a challenge, especially when you factor in our age :) The Hill Topper is a Godsend. Exactly the right amount of assistance when we need it. I know others have commented on lack of power, but I do not believe it's designed to replace your pedal power. If you want that, then get a motorcycle. We still get our workout with the cardiac arrest ha ha. Anyway, thank you guys at Clean Republic for a great product! I will definitely be recommending this product to our friends.
ratingratingratingratingrating
HILL TOPPER ELECTRIC BIKE ROCKS!
LYLE SEALES (ORLANDO, FLORIDA) 5/4/2015 2:24 PM
I JUST BOUGHT MY HILL TOPPER 12 MILES BATTERY KIT AND I JUST LOVE IT. I HAD KNEE REPALCEMENT ON BOTH KNEES, SO WHEN I DON'T WANT TO PETAL, I JUST TURN IT ON. I JUST BECAME AN AFILLIATE AND WILL TELL EVERYONE ABOUT IT. MAY IS NATIONAL BIKE MONTH, SO EVERYONE WILL KNOW. I AM OFFERING A FREE VACATION CERTIFICATE TO ANYONE WHO CHECKS OUT CLEAN REPUBLIC.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best electric solution on the market bar none
Leifur Thor (Portland Oregon) 4/22/2015 9:10 PM
After a year and a half of researching electric bikes, and even buying an Evolo, which was super heavy and very poorly designed, I was finally able to ask the right questions, and hunt for the right solution. I wanted a full size 26in tire, rugged, folding, lightweight electric bike. Something I could ride if the motor ran out of steam, something I could fold in to any trunk. A bike I could take for serious offroading, or look sharp riding downtown. My solution was buying the hill topper kit for it's lightweight and small though strong motor hiding so stelthy, no one knows I ride an electric bike, so it's less interesting to theives or cops wanting to give me a hard time on bike paths. I combined the kit with a new Montague Paratrooper, a bike the military paratroopers jump out of planes with strapped to their backs. My cost for the new rugged bike that folds in to any trunk, and a 20 mile lithium kit 2k. Total weight 43 pounds. I challange anyone to beat the laundry list of benefits this particular combo can provide. And not only does it turn heads everywhere I go, it's super stylin at the same time, not looking like most geeky electric bikes. Two years riding it every day everywhere this kit is solid as a rock, the staff totally helpful, the kit a work of artistic simplicity and style. Can't say enough about the company, the kits, the motor, and the performance. As they say in Spinal Tap, this one, it's an 11!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Luv It
SallyJo Osborn (Las Vegas, Nv) 4/17/2015 1:31 PM
I ordered my Hilltopper on Sunday afternoon, It arrived Thursday. I had the neighbors grandson 16 yrs old help me put it on and readjust my brakes. My Schwinn Meridian Trike is now even better and I can get home from the Walmart with my groceries before my ice cream melts. I had an electric front hub motor on a Meridian before and it was not nearly as easy to install or use. It also cost more. I will be telling everyone I know about the Hilltopper.
ratingratingratingratingrating
EXELENTE PRODCTO
Jorge Obregon (Buenos Aires Argentina) 3/17/2015 8:07 PM
Lo compre en el mes de diciembre del 2014 ya llevo dos meses sin ningun problema con mi COLINA TOPPER
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great for old folks
Gregory Muschlitz (Charlotte, NC) 2/13/2015 7:41 AM
I spent an afternoon carefully unpacking, reading, charging and installing my motor. The wheel went right into the fork and tightened down. I used a torque wrench as instructed. I mounted the battery down by the peddles using a water bottle holder that was already there. I held the battery pack nice and tight. The wires then ran from there. I had a canvas carrier on my handlebars and that is where I stored all of the excess wired. It turned out to be a really nice installation. Now on to riding. Wow, what fun. Now I can go up that long hill (80 foot rise in 1/2 mile) without any strain. I am 76 years old and the motor is a God send for me. No more walking my bike on hills. Spring is coming soon and I will be out racking up the miles. Thanks Hill Topper
ratingratingratingratingrating
Awesome product!
Gary (Minnesota) 2/9/2015 7:42 PM
Received my kit in a few days. Installed it in minutes on my 2014 Giant Cypress. They are a perfect match, and seem to be made for each other. It is the dead of winter here, so my first few runs were in about 20 degree weather. I have made 3-ten mile trips thus far, using the motor on hills and headwinds only. The 12 mile lithium battery has had plenty of power left each time. The light weight of the kit means that you can pedal normally without any noticeable drag. My other electric bikes are heavy, and hard to pedal without the motor. I am pedaling all the time anyway, but now the wind and hills are not a factor. The only modification that I made was to make the push button a little bigger. I can't wait until summer!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Puts the fun back in biking.
George Hain (Baja, Mexico) 1/12/2015 9:46 AM
I am 76 and going up hills is a killer for me but with the electric moter assist I can do any hill with no problem. I converted my mountain bike to a cruiser and electric May of 2013 and have riden almost every day. I I live in Mexico and so there are very few flat parts to the roads around where I live. I look forward to riding my bike every morning because is is so much fun. George Hain Tacoma, WA
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love my hilltopper
Steven Baker (Montrose, Colorado) 1/2/2015 9:41 AM
I am 70 years old and live at 6,000 ft. in western Colorado and have only 40% lung capacity. Originally bought the basic kit but upgraded to the 10 mile lithium battery. What new freedom I now have to get from home to about any point in our little town. No way I can huff it, but the smaller longer range battery gives this handicapped guy an opportunity to ride everyday that weather is half decent. I am planning to add a second 10 mile battery onto my 7 speed commuter bike next spring. That way I have some backup and I don't have to fear being stranded away from home and having to call for a lift. I recommend that new purchases start with the better 10 mile battery rather than the heavier and shorter distance basic model. This kit has truly changed my life and I highly recommend it. The only question I have is about battery life. After next season is done I will know more about that. For the price the Hilltopper is a great deal in my mind. SGB, Montrose, Colorado
page1234