Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit

Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit

What's a Hill Topper? It's an electric assist motor inside your front bike wheel. It's quick and easy to install. We offer 8, 12, 20 and 40 mile Lithium battery options. Pick the battery that best suits your needs.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(488 Ratings, 70 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
exercise is fun again
Steve (Hillsboro NH) 5/16/2015 6:59 PM
Retired factory mechanic/outdoors-man 57th birthday gift; kit w/12 mile lithium for helping fun times on 10 y/o Mountain/street bike (Raleigh) crossover. Simple quick conversion done in time to apply charged battery. Peddling only on hills I got 8 miles climbing 800 ft on first run. 2nd day out realized I was having so much fun I ordered a 20 mile lith. At 6'2" 240 there is no noticed difference freewheeling, but all hills are easy (even grinding along in 1st gear on the steep stuff). I'm drooling over the roads and trails now available and fun with the power assist. I've tracked E-bikes evolving over 10 years and Hilltopper always looked like the best fit for a fun easy workout. This old guy is happy to play like a kid again!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love it!!!
Debbie (Ozone Park) 5/13/2015 7:13 AM
I wanted to get an electric bike for a while but my biggest concern was the weight of the bike and once the battery dies, pedaling will be hard. I came across this website and couldn't be happier :):):):( It's so easy to install and doesn't add a lot of weight to my bike and if the battery is on empty I don't have to worry about pedaling because it won't be difficult as opposed to an electric bike. I really love my bike now. It goes so fast!! Thank you!!!!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
I've waited a long time...
Steve (Hillsboro NH) 5/12/2015 8:38 PM
After several years researching & tracking electric bikes, I got a Hill Topper kit with a 12 mile battery. On the first day I brutalized it with a 6 mile hilly road climbing 600 feet, pedaling only the steep stuff before it quit. My mountain bike is now fun again at age 57. I'm ordering a 20 mile battery ASAP. "Too much effort to bother to ride" just turned into "Hey, this is fun exercise"! At 6'2" 250 pounds I am impressed with the capability of my new (exercise) toy. The technology has finally arrived at my level of expectation.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Exactly what we needed!
Robert K. (Springfield, Mo) 5/8/2015 5:48 AM
My wife and I are heading into retirement and wanted to stay active. We love biking and the landscape of where we live. The hilly terrain has always be a challenge, especially when you factor in our age :) The Hill Topper is a Godsend. Exactly the right amount of assistance when we need it. I know others have commented on lack of power, but I do not believe it's designed to replace your pedal power. If you want that, then get a motorcycle. We still get our workout with the cardiac arrest ha ha. Anyway, thank you guys at Clean Republic for a great product! I will definitely be recommending this product to our friends.
ratingratingratingratingrating
HILL TOPPER ELECTRIC BIKE ROCKS!
LYLE SEALES (ORLANDO, FLORIDA) 5/4/2015 2:24 PM
I JUST BOUGHT MY HILL TOPPER 12 MILES BATTERY KIT AND I JUST LOVE IT. I HAD KNEE REPALCEMENT ON BOTH KNEES, SO WHEN I DON'T WANT TO PETAL, I JUST TURN IT ON. I JUST BECAME AN AFILLIATE AND WILL TELL EVERYONE ABOUT IT. MAY IS NATIONAL BIKE MONTH, SO EVERYONE WILL KNOW. I AM OFFERING A FREE VACATION CERTIFICATE TO ANYONE WHO CHECKS OUT CLEAN REPUBLIC.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best electric solution on the market bar none
Leifur Thor (Portland Oregon) 4/22/2015 9:10 PM
After a year and a half of researching electric bikes, and even buying an Evolo, which was super heavy and very poorly designed, I was finally able to ask the right questions, and hunt for the right solution. I wanted a full size 26in tire, rugged, folding, lightweight electric bike. Something I could ride if the motor ran out of steam, something I could fold in to any trunk. A bike I could take for serious offroading, or look sharp riding downtown. My solution was buying the hill topper kit for it's lightweight and small though strong motor hiding so stelthy, no one knows I ride an electric bike, so it's less interesting to theives or cops wanting to give me a hard time on bike paths. I combined the kit with a new Montague Paratrooper, a bike the military paratroopers jump out of planes with strapped to their backs. My cost for the new rugged bike that folds in to any trunk, and a 20 mile lithium kit 2k. Total weight 43 pounds. I challange anyone to beat the laundry list of benefits this particular combo can provide. And not only does it turn heads everywhere I go, it's super stylin at the same time, not looking like most geeky electric bikes. Two years riding it every day everywhere this kit is solid as a rock, the staff totally helpful, the kit a work of artistic simplicity and style. Can't say enough about the company, the kits, the motor, and the performance. As they say in Spinal Tap, this one, it's an 11!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Luv It
SallyJo Osborn (Las Vegas, Nv) 4/17/2015 1:31 PM
I ordered my Hilltopper on Sunday afternoon, It arrived Thursday. I had the neighbors grandson 16 yrs old help me put it on and readjust my brakes. My Schwinn Meridian Trike is now even better and I can get home from the Walmart with my groceries before my ice cream melts. I had an electric front hub motor on a Meridian before and it was not nearly as easy to install or use. It also cost more. I will be telling everyone I know about the Hilltopper.
ratingratingratingratingrating
EXELENTE PRODCTO
Jorge Obregon (Buenos Aires Argentina) 3/17/2015 8:07 PM
Lo compre en el mes de diciembre del 2014 ya llevo dos meses sin ningun problema con mi COLINA TOPPER
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great for old folks
Gregory Muschlitz (Charlotte, NC) 2/13/2015 7:41 AM
I spent an afternoon carefully unpacking, reading, charging and installing my motor. The wheel went right into the fork and tightened down. I used a torque wrench as instructed. I mounted the battery down by the peddles using a water bottle holder that was already there. I held the battery pack nice and tight. The wires then ran from there. I had a canvas carrier on my handlebars and that is where I stored all of the excess wired. It turned out to be a really nice installation. Now on to riding. Wow, what fun. Now I can go up that long hill (80 foot rise in 1/2 mile) without any strain. I am 76 years old and the motor is a God send for me. No more walking my bike on hills. Spring is coming soon and I will be out racking up the miles. Thanks Hill Topper
ratingratingratingratingrating
Awesome product!
Gary (Minnesota) 2/9/2015 7:42 PM
Received my kit in a few days. Installed it in minutes on my 2014 Giant Cypress. They are a perfect match, and seem to be made for each other. It is the dead of winter here, so my first few runs were in about 20 degree weather. I have made 3-ten mile trips thus far, using the motor on hills and headwinds only. The 12 mile lithium battery has had plenty of power left each time. The light weight of the kit means that you can pedal normally without any noticeable drag. My other electric bikes are heavy, and hard to pedal without the motor. I am pedaling all the time anyway, but now the wind and hills are not a factor. The only modification that I made was to make the push button a little bigger. I can't wait until summer!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Puts the fun back in biking.
George Hain (Baja, Mexico) 1/12/2015 9:46 AM
I am 76 and going up hills is a killer for me but with the electric moter assist I can do any hill with no problem. I converted my mountain bike to a cruiser and electric May of 2013 and have riden almost every day. I I live in Mexico and so there are very few flat parts to the roads around where I live. I look forward to riding my bike every morning because is is so much fun. George Hain Tacoma, WA
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love my hilltopper
Steven Baker (Montrose, Colorado) 1/2/2015 9:41 AM
I am 70 years old and live at 6,000 ft. in western Colorado and have only 40% lung capacity. Originally bought the basic kit but upgraded to the 10 mile lithium battery. What new freedom I now have to get from home to about any point in our little town. No way I can huff it, but the smaller longer range battery gives this handicapped guy an opportunity to ride everyday that weather is half decent. I am planning to add a second 10 mile battery onto my 7 speed commuter bike next spring. That way I have some backup and I don't have to fear being stranded away from home and having to call for a lift. I recommend that new purchases start with the better 10 mile battery rather than the heavier and shorter distance basic model. This kit has truly changed my life and I highly recommend it. The only question I have is about battery life. After next season is done I will know more about that. For the price the Hilltopper is a great deal in my mind. SGB, Montrose, Colorado
ratingratingratingratingrating
LOVE IT
Jon (Lebanon PA) 10/10/2014 11:35 AM
Okay, I waited about three months before reviewing. This kit is the ticket! I weigh 170. I bought the ten mile lithium battery. When I first got the kit I decided to see if ten miles was realistic: I used my bike as a "motorcycle", no pedaling and went an honest ten miles, battery still had some power. That was on level ground, no wind, so ideal conditions. So, yes, it can take 170 pounds ten miles. I ride to work now most days, a fourteen mile round trip. I have never run out of battery power, but I do use the motor for uphill and windy conditions mostly. I have taken several 50 mile bike rides (mostly flat terrain), and used the motor for windy conditions and several small hills. Did not run out of power by end of the ride. I think what I like best about this is that it greatly increases my enjoyment of bicycling, I used to hate a steep hill near my house, now, no problem, I used to dislike long upgrades, or going into the wind... no longer. Now the whole time I'm cycling it is enjoyable. Increased enjoyment = increased riding = increased fitness and some small weight loss. I've probably put about 1000 miles on my bike since installing kit. If lithium batteries ever come down in price I might consider getting the 20 mile battery and take along the ten mile battery and do some SERIOUS long distance biking. For now the ten mile battery has exceeded my expectations. Oh, one last thing, I really wasn't expecting the 250 watt motor to feel as powerful as it does... it's really a pretty good boost, I'd say it equals about 75% of my max pedaling power, so on average it seems that pedaling plus motor together seems to be about double the power of pedaling alone. Nice!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Nishiki Hilltopper Cafe Racer
Elton (Eugene, OR) 9/18/2014 10:04 PM
I'm big (235lbs), ride an xl Cafe Racer; matching 1.75, front brake, suspension sissy bar, banana seat and clubman handlebars - did I mention the bike is heavy?! The 8mile lithium kit makes my 16 tooth single speed go just under top speed with vigorous peddling - seems about perfect to me. Motor is mostly quiet and super discrete - most people can't tell I'm riding a motorized bike (except when I pass them maybe). Overall I love the kit and transformed this retro head turner into my everyday commute.
ratingratingratingratingrating
This bike has given me FREEDOM!!
Bonnie (Boston, MA) 9/12/2014 4:51 PM
I have low vision, so I can't drive a car. But now, with this bike, I can ride around town, go wherever I need to, and zip right up the hills with no problem! I had a friend install the wheel, but it wasn't hard, it took him about half an hour. This kit is amazing as it has given me independence I never had before. All my friends just got in their cars and drove places but I had to be driven; now I can go places too! Thank you!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tandem
Marin (Santa Barbara) 7/16/2014 12:01 PM
This is like a drug: with the push of a button, no more hill. Expensive yes, but its Sooo nice. I installed this on my tandem I use to take my daughter to school (6 mi each way). I bought it used, with the heavy lead-acid battery, and everything worked perfectly, there was plenty of power for my daughter (85 lb) & I (135 lb) to get up hills easily (with pedalling also). I found I could usually or almost do 2 round trips on one charge, but its such a rude surprise when the battery runs out at the very last hill, I ended up charging it every round trip. The heavy battery is kind of a pain to deal with (moving it off the bike to the charger every night), the weight meant the rack had to be really solid - but acceptable. I found no degradation in the battery life over the 2 years I used it (1-2x/wk)
ratingratingratingratingrating
LOVE IT
MICHELLE (NATICK MASS.) 7/5/2014 2:39 PM
Bought two kits for me and my boyfriends new 2014 trek verve 1's. Fit was tight in the forks but worked. Had to file the drop outs a little, no big deal. The wheels were a little out of true, my boyfriend true the wheels himself. Lots of fun goes 17.5-18 mph top speed. We can climb hills in our neighborhood at 13-15 mph, while pedaling of course. We got the sprinter 10 mile lithium kit, range seems good so far. We don't mind pedaling, rode 8 miles and still had plenty of battery power. Great product, highly recommended. Thank you
ratingratingratingratingrating
My wife loves it, but it did take some time to set up
Dan Abbott (Portland, ME) 6/8/2014 1:00 PM
My wife is quite thrilled with her new electric bike. She particularly likes being able to get through intersections more quickly -- we have one with such a short light that a bike can get caught in the when traffic starts moving. She's able to go to meetings now without getting sweaty, and to the farmer's market without getting tired from the load on the return trip. The 10 mile battery seems more than enough for her use. She uses it in short bursts, and it lasts quite a while. I am also pleased overall with the product, with one caveat: the wheel was significantly out of true. I was able to bring it back, but I think it could have been shipped much closer than it was. I also had to file down the slots, and spread the fork (used our car's scissor jack), file down the shoulder of the hub itself and add spacers to get the wheel to turn freely. Took about an hour total. The forks are pretty fat on her 29 year old Bianchi, so it's unlikely that most people would have to do this.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Lovin it!
Steve Feldman (Winston-Salem, NC) 5/26/2014 6:46 PM
I have been using my Hill Topper for a couple months now. It was totally easy to install on my Trek bicycle. I already have 160 miles on it. It makes it easy to maintain speeds of 18 mi/hour on level ground and makes going up hills much easier. I now use it for my 3.5 mile commute to work. It is fun!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Got another one!
Grant Haller (Boise, ID) 4/28/2014 11:33 AM
My wife was a little jealous of my hill topper equipped bike, so I got her one for her birthday last year. It did not fit on her mountain bike due to a fat fork, so we shopped around and were lucky to find a great used mountain bike. The owner had converted it to a commuter w/ thinner tires and fenders. We added a rear rack, more upright handlebars, basket and pannier and lights. The hill topper wheel hub just touched the fork on the right side, so I talked to their excellent help on the phone. I moved a washer from left to the right side as instructed and it fits great. We had a wire come loose and it was replaced w/o question. My wife prefers to use the motor only on the long hill climb to our house, but is glad she has it on the flats if it is a long ride, especially if we are loaded w/ groceries. She also likes to get a boost when starting through busy intersections in town. She weighs 100 lbs, and I didn't know how much difference that would make, so I made sure her bike had nice low gears for the steep climb to our home. Her light weight makes a huge difference. She goes up the hill much faster than me (175 lbs) and in a higher gear. She loves her hill climber as much as I love mine. I have had my (20 mile li-ion battery) for 3 years now and it has had no issues.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Very pleased
John Pearson (Colorado Springs, Colorado) 3/22/2014 9:19 AM
Its not an electric bike, its an almost perfect supplement to manual power when you want to go where its not always the most kind. It increases your range and enjoyment. The product is well make and honest. I would offer a small piece of advice. There are few front forks made of steel and they are not designed to accept the level of initial torque that can be applied at a standing start. Start from manually peddling to reduce the load. I broke one fork before calculating the load. Enjoy and benefit from a quality product that increases riding pleasure.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Kit
Kevin Hendrix (Oxford, MS) 2/17/2014 12:35 PM
Very nice complete kit for people who don't want to spec and build it on their own. Took about half an hour to route the wiring to safe places on the bicycle during the installation.
ratingratingratingratingrating
biking made easy
john fairs (victoria b.c.) 2/16/2014 3:51 PM
thanks clean republic got the kit a couple of weeks ago, unfortunately my forks didn't accept the wheel hub so I had to go to my local bike shop where they had a second hand set that would, the kit went on as simple as your video said. I'm 57 years young and bike to work. going to work is level ground or up hill (3 miles)coming home is an easy ride. I work as a chef so I'm on my feet all day, I found my legs were tiring by the end of the day. I used the hill topper for my trip to work when needed at the hills. I find my legs do not get tired at work any more. I have an old Norco screamer full suspension mountain bike which I'll send pics of. had to go to Manitou shocks which still needed a bit of grinding to fit right. love the product, will be a fan forever
ratingratingratingratingrating
Faster than a speeding bullet ...
Bob Sigsbee (Aubrey, TX) 12/2/2013 9:39 PM
… well, almost. Very fast, anyway. What a joy it is now for my wife to ride up the hills and inclines near our house. We both are amazed at the acceleration of the Hill Topper, and the smile on my wife's face says it all (you can't see her smile, but trust me, she is very, very happy). Thank you Clean Republic, for building a great product at a competitive price. By the way, Beau has been great to deal with -- please commend him for us. Kindest regards, The Sigsbees
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Buy
James Miller (Northern California) 11/12/2013 11:52 AM
I use the Hill Topper with the small lithium batter on remote dirt roads for accessing the back country. I usually have a small pack on the handle bars, a larger pack on the rear rack and another pack on my back. Probably about 100 lbs of gear plus my 225 weight. I usually go about 4 plus miles (round trip) in moderately hilly terrain on dirt roads or paths. I peddle on the way in (about 2 miles) then just let the motor do all the work on the way home, no peddling at all. This uses about 85% of the battery capacity. I just purchased a second one for my granddaughter.
page123