Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit

Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit

What's a Hill Topper? It's an electric assist motor inside your front bike wheel. It's quick and easy to install. We offer 8, 10, 20 and 40 mile Lithium battery options. Pick the battery that best suits your needs.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(454 Ratings, 58 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
LOVE IT
Jon (Lebanon PA) 10/10/2014 11:35 AM
Okay, I waited about three months before reviewing. This kit is the ticket! I weigh 170. I bought the ten mile lithium battery. When I first got the kit I decided to see if ten miles was realistic: I used my bike as a "motorcycle", no pedaling and went an honest ten miles, battery still had some power. That was on level ground, no wind, so ideal conditions. So, yes, it can take 170 pounds ten miles. I ride to work now most days, a fourteen mile round trip. I have never run out of battery power, but I do use the motor for uphill and windy conditions mostly. I have taken several 50 mile bike rides (mostly flat terrain), and used the motor for windy conditions and several small hills. Did not run out of power by end of the ride. I think what I like best about this is that it greatly increases my enjoyment of bicycling, I used to hate a steep hill near my house, now, no problem, I used to dislike long upgrades, or going into the wind... no longer. Now the whole time I'm cycling it is enjoyable. Increased enjoyment = increased riding = increased fitness and some small weight loss. I've probably put about 1000 miles on my bike since installing kit. If lithium batteries ever come down in price I might consider getting the 20 mile battery and take along the ten mile battery and do some SERIOUS long distance biking. For now the ten mile battery has exceeded my expectations. Oh, one last thing, I really wasn't expecting the 250 watt motor to feel as powerful as it does... it's really a pretty good boost, I'd say it equals about 75% of my max pedaling power, so on average it seems that pedaling plus motor together seems to be about double the power of pedaling alone. Nice!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Nishiki Hilltopper Cafe Racer
Elton (Eugene, OR) 9/18/2014 10:04 PM
I'm big (235lbs), ride an xl Cafe Racer; matching 1.75, front brake, suspension sissy bar, banana seat and clubman handlebars - did I mention the bike is heavy?! The 8mile lithium kit makes my 16 tooth single speed go just under top speed with vigorous peddling - seems about perfect to me. Motor is mostly quiet and super discrete - most people can't tell I'm riding a motorized bike (except when I pass them maybe). Overall I love the kit and transformed this retro head turner into my everyday commute.
ratingratingratingratingrating
This bike has given me FREEDOM!!
Bonnie (Boston, MA) 9/12/2014 4:51 PM
I have low vision, so I can't drive a car. But now, with this bike, I can ride around town, go wherever I need to, and zip right up the hills with no problem! I had a friend install the wheel, but it wasn't hard, it took him about half an hour. This kit is amazing as it has given me independence I never had before. All my friends just got in their cars and drove places but I had to be driven; now I can go places too! Thank you!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tandem
Marin (Santa Barbara) 7/16/2014 12:01 PM
This is like a drug: with the push of a button, no more hill. Expensive yes, but its Sooo nice. I installed this on my tandem I use to take my daughter to school (6 mi each way). I bought it used, with the heavy lead-acid battery, and everything worked perfectly, there was plenty of power for my daughter (85 lb) & I (135 lb) to get up hills easily (with pedalling also). I found I could usually or almost do 2 round trips on one charge, but its such a rude surprise when the battery runs out at the very last hill, I ended up charging it every round trip. The heavy battery is kind of a pain to deal with (moving it off the bike to the charger every night), the weight meant the rack had to be really solid - but acceptable. I found no degradation in the battery life over the 2 years I used it (1-2x/wk)
ratingratingratingratingrating
LOVE IT
MICHELLE (NATICK MASS.) 7/5/2014 2:39 PM
Bought two kits for me and my boyfriends new 2014 trek verve 1's. Fit was tight in the forks but worked. Had to file the drop outs a little, no big deal. The wheels were a little out of true, my boyfriend true the wheels himself. Lots of fun goes 17.5-18 mph top speed. We can climb hills in our neighborhood at 13-15 mph, while pedaling of course. We got the sprinter 10 mile lithium kit, range seems good so far. We don't mind pedaling, rode 8 miles and still had plenty of battery power. Great product, highly recommended. Thank you
ratingratingratingratingrating
My wife loves it, but it did take some time to set up
Dan Abbott (Portland, ME) 6/8/2014 1:00 PM
My wife is quite thrilled with her new electric bike. She particularly likes being able to get through intersections more quickly -- we have one with such a short light that a bike can get caught in the when traffic starts moving. She's able to go to meetings now without getting sweaty, and to the farmer's market without getting tired from the load on the return trip. The 10 mile battery seems more than enough for her use. She uses it in short bursts, and it lasts quite a while. I am also pleased overall with the product, with one caveat: the wheel was significantly out of true. I was able to bring it back, but I think it could have been shipped much closer than it was. I also had to file down the slots, and spread the fork (used our car's scissor jack), file down the shoulder of the hub itself and add spacers to get the wheel to turn freely. Took about an hour total. The forks are pretty fat on her 29 year old Bianchi, so it's unlikely that most people would have to do this.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Lovin it!
Steve Feldman (Winston-Salem, NC) 5/26/2014 6:46 PM
I have been using my Hill Topper for a couple months now. It was totally easy to install on my Trek bicycle. I already have 160 miles on it. It makes it easy to maintain speeds of 18 mi/hour on level ground and makes going up hills much easier. I now use it for my 3.5 mile commute to work. It is fun!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Got another one!
Grant Haller (Boise, ID) 4/28/2014 11:33 AM
My wife was a little jealous of my hill topper equipped bike, so I got her one for her birthday last year. It did not fit on her mountain bike due to a fat fork, so we shopped around and were lucky to find a great used mountain bike. The owner had converted it to a commuter w/ thinner tires and fenders. We added a rear rack, more upright handlebars, basket and pannier and lights. The hill topper wheel hub just touched the fork on the right side, so I talked to their excellent help on the phone. I moved a washer from left to the right side as instructed and it fits great. We had a wire come loose and it was replaced w/o question. My wife prefers to use the motor only on the long hill climb to our house, but is glad she has it on the flats if it is a long ride, especially if we are loaded w/ groceries. She also likes to get a boost when starting through busy intersections in town. She weighs 100 lbs, and I didn't know how much difference that would make, so I made sure her bike had nice low gears for the steep climb to our home. Her light weight makes a huge difference. She goes up the hill much faster than me (175 lbs) and in a higher gear. She loves her hill climber as much as I love mine. I have had my (20 mile li-ion battery) for 3 years now and it has had no issues.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Very pleased
John Pearson (Colorado Springs, Colorado) 3/22/2014 9:19 AM
Its not an electric bike, its an almost perfect supplement to manual power when you want to go where its not always the most kind. It increases your range and enjoyment. The product is well make and honest. I would offer a small piece of advice. There are few front forks made of steel and they are not designed to accept the level of initial torque that can be applied at a standing start. Start from manually peddling to reduce the load. I broke one fork before calculating the load. Enjoy and benefit from a quality product that increases riding pleasure.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Kit
Kevin Hendrix (Oxford, MS) 2/17/2014 12:35 PM
Very nice complete kit for people who don't want to spec and build it on their own. Took about half an hour to route the wiring to safe places on the bicycle during the installation.
ratingratingratingratingrating
biking made easy
john fairs (victoria b.c.) 2/16/2014 3:51 PM
thanks clean republic got the kit a couple of weeks ago, unfortunately my forks didn't accept the wheel hub so I had to go to my local bike shop where they had a second hand set that would, the kit went on as simple as your video said. I'm 57 years young and bike to work. going to work is level ground or up hill (3 miles)coming home is an easy ride. I work as a chef so I'm on my feet all day, I found my legs were tiring by the end of the day. I used the hill topper for my trip to work when needed at the hills. I find my legs do not get tired at work any more. I have an old Norco screamer full suspension mountain bike which I'll send pics of. had to go to Manitou shocks which still needed a bit of grinding to fit right. love the product, will be a fan forever
ratingratingratingratingrating
Faster than a speeding bullet ...
Bob Sigsbee (Aubrey, TX) 12/2/2013 9:39 PM
… well, almost. Very fast, anyway. What a joy it is now for my wife to ride up the hills and inclines near our house. We both are amazed at the acceleration of the Hill Topper, and the smile on my wife's face says it all (you can't see her smile, but trust me, she is very, very happy). Thank you Clean Republic, for building a great product at a competitive price. By the way, Beau has been great to deal with -- please commend him for us. Kindest regards, The Sigsbees
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Buy
James Miller (Northern California) 11/12/2013 11:52 AM
I use the Hill Topper with the small lithium batter on remote dirt roads for accessing the back country. I usually have a small pack on the handle bars, a larger pack on the rear rack and another pack on my back. Probably about 100 lbs of gear plus my 225 weight. I usually go about 4 plus miles (round trip) in moderately hilly terrain on dirt roads or paths. I peddle on the way in (about 2 miles) then just let the motor do all the work on the way home, no peddling at all. This uses about 85% of the battery capacity. I just purchased a second one for my granddaughter.
ratingratingratingratingrating
The real hill topper
Juni (Costa Rica) 11/9/2013 6:17 PM
There are many hills&rainy days in San Jose, Costa Rica. I put the pro-pack with 10mile-lithium-batt on my Trek mountain bike. It's a real hill topper! It took 15 minutes without the kit on the uphill. Now, it takes only 8 minutes and I am not tired. Also, no problem in the heavy rain. Attach&detach of the batt on the bike is very easy for recharging. Parking the bike without the batt is good to prevent a stealing. I compared some e-bike kits and this kit is the best value for money in conclusion. Thank you.
ratingratingratingratingrating
LITHUIM SPRINTER 10 K HILL TOPPER
Eduardo Riebeling (Harlingen Texas) 8/15/2013 11:35 AM
UPDATE I WEIGHT 240# I BEEN USING THE BIKE FOR A WEEK TO GO WORK I COMMUTE 7 MILES EACH WAY (FLAT BUT WINDY), I ALWAYS PEDAL AND IS AMAZING, BUT,,, LAST 2 TIMES I DID NOT PEDAL TO CHECK SPEED AND HOW LONG IT WILL GO, BOTH TIMES I BARELY DO 5 MILES AND THE BATTERY IS DEATH (IT WAS FULLY CHARGED)THERE WAS SOME WIND AND I WEIGHT 240#, I WILL POST AGAIN TO REPORT TOTAL DISTANCE PEDALLING BUT SPEED AROUND 22 AND WITHOUT PEDALLING AROUND 17
ratingratingratingratingrating
Lithium 10 mile Hill Topper
Eduardo Riebeling (Harlingen Texas) 8/9/2013 9:57 AM
Amazing kit, commute of 7 miles no sweating and saving gas, install was easy but no 3 minutes more like half an hour, Thanks' Clean Republic
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great for the 5 Boro Bike Tour
Willy (NYC) 5/10/2013 9:17 AM
I used the sprinter pack on the 5 Boro Bike tour and it was wonderful. I was able to get up the really hard hills especially the one to get on the Queensboro bridge with no problems, I actually was surpassing the season riders around me. This thing is a wonder and am so glad someone came up with a simple and easy setup. Thanks guys!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
AMAZING !! AWESOME !!
John Clise (Port Townsend,WA.) 5/1/2013 11:19 AM
Yesterday I took my old clunker bike out for a ride with my new HillTopper with lithium - 10 mile battery attached. I took a 20 mile round-trip ride uphill and downhill (our town is hilly). This is much more than I have ridden in the past. The bike operated far beyond my highest expectations, and there was still some power left in my battery when I finished. I am obviously not a bike "techie" and don't fit a normal bike-riding profile. But with the HillTopper I plan to get a lot more biking in. Just for the record, I am 6'6" tall, 215 pounds and 81 years old.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love my hill topper bike kit. Could about 6 days to receive it through mail.
DM (Cordova, Tn) 11/30/2012 10:01 PM
Just received my hill topper bike kit. It was very easy to assemble and adjust the bike brake to accommodate the rim width. For all the ebikes and kits I saw, this kit was simple to install and affordable. I give it a 10 out of 10. I normally do not review products, but I am excited about this product. I have recently started biking with my 6 year old. I have a kids bike attachment that allows my son to trail behind and now pulling his weight, when he does not want to pedal, has made my biking experience more enjoy. Now my son can now relax when he does not want to pedal and I can use the hill topper to help me get up those hills. Thanks...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Hill Topper Electric Bike Kit
Harnek (Hemet,CA) 11/24/2012 5:23 PM
Excellent product and battery life is good and easy to set up. I recommend this product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Another 1100 Miles and My Wife Too.
Jeffrey Arnold (Zenda, WI) 9/14/2012 10:45 AM
I have put another 1100 miles on my Hilltopper equiped bike so far this year. When I say 1100 miles, that means that the Hilltopper is on the bike, but actual miles with the button pushed is certainly less than 10% of that. I can just go and not worry about hills and/or wind. My wife was not able to ride for two years because of severe back problems. She got a hilltopper this spring and has been able to put in several hundred miles of riding with me. She is in love with her Hilltopper and in love with biking again. We have gone on two biking vacations this year riding Rail Trails that she would have found impossible without her Hilltopper. We use the SLA batteries and find this to be an affordable option for our use. I really like the option of just putting the Hilltopper on another bike. With very excellent help of Clean Republic's customer service, I changed my Hilltopper from a 26" wheel to a 700c wheel this spring. I even laced on the new rim with their help. It worked out great. Two local bike shops refused to do the job, as they know nothing of electric rims! I think they are going to miss out on the next big thing in cycling. Electric bikes are starting bring many more people into cycling. We could be happier. If it matters, I am almost 65.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Front wheel motor best choice!
Bill D (Robbinsdale, Minnesota) 7/14/2012 1:55 PM
I am extremely happy with my Hill Topper bike kit with the 20+ mile range lithium battery. I purchased this system because I work 6-8 hour shifts at a Trader Joe's specialty foods market and by the time I'm ready to pedal my 9 miles home I'm bushed! Having electric assist means I can avoid overstressing myself during my commute. I'm also a very strong cyclist and part time bike shop employee who enjoys fast road bike riding and touring in my spare time, but need to have enough energy after work for mowing a nearly 2 acre lawn and enjoying my family. The system was easily installed in my Breezer Uptown with 7spd internal gears, a great durable bike perfect for bike commuting. I chose to purchase from Clean Republic because I wanted to insure great customer support and it turned out I did need some. Clean Republic had to replace my initial lithium battery because their supplier at the time sent them a bad lot of batteries. They now have a new supplier and the replacement battery is better made and is gives me a range of over 22 miles. I also lopped off the original "momentary" switch with one I liked better from Radio Shack. That cost me less than $4 at Radio Shack. You will need to soder on the new swich. My 9 mile (each way) commute time, including many stop signs and traffic lights, has gone from 70 minutes down to 40 minutes. I've also read that the average electrc bike gets the equivalent of over 1700 miles per gallon and my car is staying parked all the time now. I've used studded bicycle tires over 7 years to travel to/from work during Minnesota winters and already know the Hill Topper system with "front wheel drive" should be awesome. Realize that the system is essentially "all wheel drive" when I add my own power to the pedals! Anthony at CR is to be commended for his excellent customer service. If someone asks me, "Isn't bicycling with a motor cheating?" I respond, "Driving a 4000 pound car to haul my 170lbs 9 miles at even 40 mpg is cheating and wasteful.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good investment
Grant Haller (Boise, ID) 6/26/2012 11:36 AM
I am 53, not in bad shape, but found I made excuses for not riding my bike to work. It is a 7 mile round trip with a 3/4 mile hill at the end of about 500 ft elevation gain. On 90+ degree days and after a 12 hr shift I found I just wanted to drive, not ride. I did a little calculating, and figured the Hill Topper, though expensive, may pay for itself in a few years. The batteries (20 mile lithium) were on back-order so it took about a month to arrive. Install was easy. I have an old Panasonic touring bike that has 27 inch wheels. I had to file the drop out slightly for the wheel to fit, but it was only a few strokes with a 12 inch mill-bastard file. I had to adjust the brakes for the wheel size difference also. I bought the quick release for the wheel witch I really like. I have used the bike for about a month now. I use it virtually the whole commute except the downhill. I am riding in my 2nd from highest gear on the flats and not pushing hard on the pedals. I climb the long hill in my 3rd from lowest gear. I figure I am going about twice as fast with about half the effort on the climb. I have not challenged the range yet, as I have only used it on my commute, and recharge it every night. I plan on trying not charging it for a while to check the range soon. Overall, I love it. My hand gets a little tired because you must hold the button for power constantly, so you can't move that hands position w/o the motor stopping. You also can't use that hand to switch gears. I take the motor off and lock it in my locker at work, which adds a bit of hassle, 'tho minor. I would definitely recommend the Hill Topper.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Performs as advertised
Marshal G (Bellingham, WA) 6/11/2012 6:52 PM
I recently installed the SLA Hilltopper kit on my Giant Roam2 bike and it pretty much does exactly what I expected. Installation is self explanatory, especially with the videos on the website. Performance wise I have no complaints. I can now ride comfortably up just about any hill in the area and only on the steepest hills do I even have to pedal hard, whereas previously I would have to get off and walk up. Of course everyone always wants more power and more speed but for a $400 kit that's this easy to install it's fine. Before the Hilltopper I could only get to some areas if I could put my bike up on the rack on a bus but now there's nowhere in the city I wouldn't ride. I already want to upgrade to the Lithium battery though, not so much for the extra range which is nice but the savings in weight.
ratingratingratingratingrating
rear disk brake
hamilton (MN) 6/3/2012 10:23 PM
i would like to know if you can use the disk brake on you bike for this?
page123